That’s What Friends are For!

Talk About these questions.

  • What do you think are the live most important things to look for in a partner ?
  • Which of the live important aspects of a relationship are most important to you ?
  • Do people in your country or culture date ? How else do people meet their partners ?

CONVERSATION

Chris : Do you have a date for the party yet ?

Kim : Actually, I don’t…. Do you think you could help me find one ?

Chris : Hmm. What kind of guys do you like ?

Kim : Oh, I like guys who aren’t too serious and who have a good sense of humor. You know…like you.

Chris : OK. What else ?

Kim : Well, I’d prefer someone I have something in common with – who I can talk to easily.

Chris : I think I know just the guy for you. Bob Branson. Do you know him ?

Kim : No, I don’t think so.

Chris : Let me arrange for you to meet him, and you can tell me what you think.

Please make other Conversation with topic “That’s What Friends are For” (next meeting will be presented)

GRAMMAR FOCUS

Relative Pronouns

1. Relative Pronouns as Subjects

I like people. They aren’t too serious -> I like people who aren’t too serious

I like people. They have a good sense of humor -> I like people that have a good sense of humor

2. Relative Pronouns as Objects

I’d prefer someone. I can talk to him easily. -> I’d prefer someone (who) I can talk to easily

I’d prefer someone. I have something in common with him -> I’d prefer someone (that) I have something in common with.

(Please Learn It. Next Meeting will be discussed)

 

source:
new interchange English for international communication Student’s book 5 – Jack C.Richards with Jonathan Hull and Susan Proctor

